Sharing experience, advice, and photos to all with the shutterbug.

Dealing with hard times

Anyone who has brought a camera in to a hospital knows how this feels. Guilt and shame, from taking photos of the sick or injured. But it’s something that has been done since the inception of photojournalism, and it has become integral in opening people’s eyes not only to the horrors of the world, but also the strength that people have. Recently my mother was diagnosed with Cancer, and shortly after flying home I found myself in a hospital, with a camera in my hand. And as difficult as it was to photograph my own mother who was going through the most difficult time of her life, a part of me knew that something amazing, beautiful and inspirational would come of the photographs. I was not disappointed.

And after taking these and not being able to look at them for almost 3 weeks, I realized what else photographing the sick does for people: It helps them deal with it – at least it did for me. I did something similar when my father’s mother died, and to this day people still tell me that the portraits of my father are some of the strongest in my portfolio.

 

She pulled through great, by the way. Was in the hospital on Dec. 23rd for surgery and was home on Dec 24th. She’s expected to make a full recovery and is a very strong woman.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Dealing with hard times « {Some Photographer} -- Topsy.com

  2. Kristen

    Rob, these are beautiful

    January 12, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  3. Michelle Jones

    These are very inspiring photos Rob. What a great record of the whole thing and a way of facing it and accepting it. I”m sure she will recover just fine. Give her my love and best wishes and all the best to you as well. Take good care,
    Michelle

    January 13, 2011 at 1:44 am

Leave a Reply

